DIY… Star Sign Embroidery

20130531-072115.jpg
Let me ask you a question, how often do you just look up and take in the stars? I’m usually in bed knitting by 7, asleep by 10, so the answer for me is that it “ardly hever appens”. But I did just get some newfangled fancy telephone app that lets me do it from said knit/bed nest. Which is pretty neat and leads me to want my boudoir a little more…celestial, if you will. So I made a cute little star sign embroider hoop art thing to hang up on my wall.

First I stretched some fabric on a hoop…And marked off with chalk where the stars should go. I used this picture as a reference. See? I’m Aquarian and the husband a Gemini.

20130531-200350.jpg
Now it’s time for the fun! FRENCH KNOTS!!! Ooolala. I put one for every star. I tried to take a picture of each step in the process of producing a French knot. So here we go…

20130531-200928.jpg

Ok first cut a length of embroidery floss no more than a foot long. Thread the needle tying no knots and enter the fabric through the back, bring it out the front till you have a 3ish inch tail in the back. Now you pretty much just loop it back on itself. You will wrap the floss that’s closest to the hoop onto the end eye end of the needle then wrap it again building a coil towards the needles pointy end. Only wrap twice, more than that is a bauble. Now stick your needle about half way through the fabric, from the front, close to where you came in from the back. At this point you’ll want to carefully tug the coil on the needle snug,then pull the needle the rest of the way through out the back being careful to keep an even tension in the knot that forms. If it is lopsided tug at the tighter loops carefully with your needle till it falls evenly. Now do one for each star.
I left all the crazy strings coming out of the back till the end, no knots till the end. I think it looked fungi related and interesting kind of in the back, maybe a future project….anywho. Now just string up some more floss and connect the dots with long dashes. I used one continuous floss and did the whole thing starting by coming through the back, then just sort of tunneling under each star. Oh and I added a little + between the two. I think it’s dreamy….

20130531-202508.jpg

Xo

Comments
One Response to “DIY… Star Sign Embroidery”
  1. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

