DIY… Button Decor

So, not too long ago here, I cleaned and organized my entire email. Inboxes, folders, spam, the whole shebang! and boy did it feel good. It was very therapeutic, as cleaning can be. I remembered things I forgot, found pictures I thought I’d lost, and found a cute easy DIY that I’ve never put on here. So lets dive in with, well, another back story. My darling sister in ginger once gave me a sewing case full of buttons. I’m talking a 10000 buttons maybe. A lot.

20130406-143157.jpg

I didn’t want to use them for anything. I’m a pack rat that way. i suppose thats why cleaning is so therapeutic to me maybe. i love a good purge of things. Anyways I decided I couldn’t just let them collect dust for the next hundred years, but what to make….

20130406-143357.jpg
why, button decor of course! duh. Lets get started. This ones easy as pie and fairly quick. I love a good instant gratification.

20130406-143707.jpg
First off gather up some supplies. Mine were buttons, obviously, hot glue and the gun to go with it, a wood plank (left over from my own wedding. someday i should post pictures of my wedding. someday), some tape, and a stencil of some sort. I used my mother’s in law cricut to cut out my stencil. You could free hand, or trace something, hell! don’t do a letter at all but a shape of some sort or a pattern. I beg of you, be creative. Digressing, Tape your stencil to the wood and then just hot glue buttons. I went from middle out. It didn’t take much time at all. But was a good high in picking out buttons! Now let it set for a bit. i say go take the dog out, or do a 10 min yoga video on youtube then come back and take the paper off. you may have to do a little tearing if you’ve glued a button down onto paper, it happens, cause you want a good thickness of buttons. Or at least I felt that way. And thats it! Your new decor is simply stunning my dear! super cute! sorry I just really have a thing for buttons I think. Stand it up somewhere, Nail it to a fence post. or take a 2 inch long bit of yarn or thin ribbon and hot glue each end down on the back top of the plank to fashion a hanger. Hot glue is so good. Remember though it is nice to let it set before you go hanging it up everywhere!

20130406-144512.jpg

xo

ps.
for once and for all I’d like to clear up that I do not sign xo like “gossip girl” but as second in command on a ship in Admiral Adama’s fleet. This “ps” was dedicated to my husband

Comments
2 Responses to “DIY… Button Decor”
  1. Smash says:

    That looks so rad! I love it. I have a surplus of buttons as well and I was thinking of covering one of my lampshades with them, but my boyfriend said that it would turn out ugly and the lampshade would be ruined… Now I have a great alternative use for the buttons! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • jessicafreed says:

      Hey lady! Thanks. Post a picture on your site when you do it! and now I’m off to “follow” you for some positivity.

Leave a Reply

